Tarot Series~Major Arcana Card 5: The Hierophant


When pulled upright is means to embrace conventions. You need to stay within the conventional bounds of an established orthodox approach. It can mean to follow social structures that are already established and have their own traditions. This card is a representation to institutions and their core values.

When pulled in reverse it can mean you are feeling constricted in your day to day life from too many rules and structure. You have lost control and flexibility in your life. Despite this you are strong willed and want to break free. You want to try more unorthodox approaches and defy social norms. 

Here is a spread that focuses on the hierophant and  exploring your relation to the holy. I would recommend taking the hierophant out of your deck and meditating on what you want to know about your relation to the holy. Then shuffle and pull the cards using the method you see fit. When placing the cards leave them face down and flip them as you read each position.


Card 1: Sacred Earth. How you see (or don’t see) the element of earth as holy and beautiful. This card represents the divine body, your own and this earth’s, the environment, body image, sex, prosperity, abundance and your relation and attitudes towards these things. Can also point out problems in these areas, for example sexual guilt or negative perceptions of your own body.

Card 2: Sacred Water. This card represents emotional and intuitive beauty and holiness, your faith, coincidences, chance, and the beauty of serendipity. Can be things you just know, deep down. Also undercurrents and the depths, mysteries and the unexplained, and your relations and attitudes towards this.

Card 3: Sacred Air. This card represents the divine mind. It can be knowledge and learning of the holy, history, education, and the wonder and holiness of science. Ability to learn. How you see religion rationally, the ego’s take on it all.

Card 4: Sacred Fire. This card represents the holiness of life, the unstoppable forces, the life force. It is that which drives you, your inner passions and reactions to them; your calling.

Card 5: Sacred Spirit. This card represents religious experiences you have had, glimpses of magic and surpassing beauty, the dream-feel of the holy, things from your own past. It can be epiphanies, things you have seen, or things you have not seen, and why.

Card 6: Sacred Self. The card represents your overall reaction to religion and traditions of the holy, your religious upbringing, society’s expectations concerning religion, problems, good or bad experiences, blocks or paths to the sacred.

Problem cards can represent areas that need attention: they can be blocks or difficulties with that element or aspect of your relationship to the divine.

Thanks for reading. Make sure to leave any thoughts or questions in the comments and subscribe so you get notifications when I post. Merry Meet and Blessed Be.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s